Executive Committee Positions: The Executive Committee manages the affairs of the association. The committee meets in person once a year, immediately before the Annual Meeting, and virtually as required throughout the year. Each committee member is tasked with a specific responsibility (listed below for the current Executive Committee). More information about the role of the Executive Committee and of the Membership and Credentials Committee can be found in the Association's Constitution and Bylaws.

Nominations are requested from the AAPA membership for the following positions: 

President Elect (4 year total term: 1 year as President Elect, 2 years as President, 1 year as Past President)

  • Duties of the President Elect. The President-Elect shall assist the President, and, in the absence or disability of the President during the second year of the President’s term, shall perform the duties of the President.
  • Duties of the President. The President shall chair the annual business meeting and the Executive Committee. He or she shall have powers and authorities usually vested in the President of a learned society and shall perform such other duties as the Executive Committee or membership may direct.
  • Duties of the Past President. The Past President shall assist the President, and, in the absence or disability of the President during the first year of the President’s term, shall perform the duties of the President.

Vice President (2 year term)

  • The Vice President shall assist the President in the performance of the President’s duties, and shall also be responsible for planning the program of the annual meeting. This includes managing the symposium, abstract, and workshop submissions, organizing and overseeing the program committee, chairing the advance program meeting to organize the meeting program, and preparing the abstract and program books.

Secretary (2 year term)

  • The Secretary shall ensure that minutes are taken during the annual business meeting and any Executive Committee meetings, and that these are published or otherwise made available to the Association. A copy of the current Constitution and Bylaws, and a separate list of all votes, successful motions, and resolutions shall be kept by the Secretary’s office. The Secretary is also responsible for updating the Executive Committee Handbook, digitally archiving the Association’s records, and regularly maintaining the Association’s website.

Executive Committee Member
 & Chair of the Career Development Committee (3 year term)

  • There are four executive committee members in addition to the Association’s officers. There is one vacancy this year. The person elected to this vacancy will chair the Career Development Committee, organize a Career Development Panel at each Annual Meeting, and oversee the Cobb Professional Development Grant competition. The person filling this position will also work closely with the Early Career Liaison to the Executive Committee.

Nominees must be AAPA Regular Members in good standing. The President Elect should ideally have prior experience in serving on the AAPA Executive Committee. Any AAPA member (student, regular, or special) may submit a nomination. Self nominations are encouraged. To check a nominee's membership status, login at http://birenheide.com/AAPA/memberinfo.php and go to the directory of members.

Nomination Slate:
 From the proposed eligible nominees, the AAPA Nominations Committee, chaired by Dr. Leslie Aiello, will seek input from the Executive Committee regarding the slate of nominees and recommend to the Executive Committee two candidates per position and alternates for the official ballot. The President will contact potential candidates in advance of the ballot to obtain their willingness to run.  

 A link to the online ballot will be emailed to Regular Members in January. The poll closes in late February.

To Submit a Nomination:

Current AAPA Executive Committee (ExComm) members

Committee duties, if any, are in parentheses following the job title. 

Anne Grauer: President 

Leslie Aiello: Past President (Nominations) (will be replaced by the new President Elect)

Steve Leigh: Vice-President (Meetings) (up for election)

Rachel Caspari: Treasurer

Graciela Cabana: Secretary (up for election)

Trudy Turner: Editor, American Journal of Physical Anthropology

Lyle Konigsberg: Editor, Yearbook of Physical Anthropology

Kristi Lewton: ExComm Member (Membership)

Christina Torres-Rouff: ExComm Member (Student Programs) 

Robin Nelson: ExComm Member (History and Honors) 

Nate Dominy: ExComm Member (Career Development) (up for election)

Copyright © 2020 American Association of Physical Anthropologists.
Site programming and administration: Ed Hagen, Department of Anthropology, Washington State University