The IDEAS Workshop includes a day-long science and mentoring workshop for undergraduate and graduate students the Wednesday of the AAPA meetings, networking events throughout the meeting, and a virtual mentoring network throughout the year.

The core workshop provides a team, a space, and a suite of activities to engage issues of scholarship, professional preparation, and community building. The workshop includes 15 IDEAS Student Scholars (both undergraduate and graduate) and 15 IDEAS Faculty. The day-long meeting includes scientific presentations by faculty scholars, thematically and topically focused mentoring groups, and introduction to tools, resources, and practices to help meet the challenges and opportunities faced by students from racialized minority groups from traditionally underrepresented in biological anthropology and first generation college students.

The IDEAS Student Application deadline
is typically in mid-November. Applicants must be graduate or undergraduate students in programs in biological anthropology or related disciplines. IDEAS Students Scholars receive travel to and lodging for the entirety of the AAPA conference as well as funding toward poster printing for those participating in the COD Undergraduate Research Symposium.

Application materials are available in the Fall with decisions provided by late January.

Sponsoring IDEAS Scholars or Satellite Workshops?
If you are interested in sponsoring additional IDEAS scholars or building satellite workshops in your local area into your Broader Impacts programs, please contact Ripan Malhi or Susan Antón.

Questions About Applications or the Workshop? Please contact Ripan Malhi, Susan Antón, or Agustín Fuentes.

IDEAS Faculty
Susan Antón (2019)

Jada Benn-Torres (2018-2019)

Richard Bribiescas (2016-2019)

Graciela Cabana (2016-2018)

Tamar Carter (2016)

Kerry Dore (2017)

Keolu Fox (2019)

Agustín Fuentes (2016-2019)

Felicia Gómez (2016)

Chelsey Juarez (2018-2019)

Chrisandra Kufeldt (2019)

Amy Lu (2018-2019)

Marisa Macias (2016)

Ripan Malhi (2016-2019)

Arion Mayes (2016, 2017, 2019)

Luseadra McKeracher (2017, 2019)

Stephanie Meredith (2016)

John Mitani (2016-2018)

Robin Nelson (2016-2018)

Milena Shattuck (2017, 2019)

Phoebe Stubblefield (2016-2019)

Zaneta Thayer (2016-2018)

Christina Torres-Rouff (2016-2018)

Claudia Valeggia (2016-2018)

Teresa Wilson (2018-2019)

Lu Yao (2017, 2019)

Copyright © 2021 American Association of Physical Anthropologists.
Site programming and administration: Ed Hagen, Department of Anthropology, Washington State University