Executive Committee Positions: The Executive Committee manages the affairs of the association. The committee meets in person once a year, immediately before the Annual Meeting, and virtually as required throughout the year. Each committee member is tasked with a specific responsibility (listed below for the current Executive Committee). More information about the role of the Executive Committee and of the Membership and Credentials Committee can be found in the Association's Constitution and Bylaws.

Nominations are requested from the AABA membership for the following positions: 

(Two Year Term)

The President shall chair the annual business meeting and the Executive Committee. They shall have powers and authorities usually vested in the President of a learned society and shall perform such other duties as the Executive Committee or membership may direct. In 2022-2023 the role will be President Elect. The President Elect shall assist the President, and, in the absence or disability of the President during the second year of the President’s term, shall perform the duties of the President.

Vice President (Two Year Term)
The Vice President shall assist the President in the performance of the President’s duties, and shall also be responsible for planning the program of the annual meeting.

Secretary (Two Year Term)

The Secretary shall ensure that minutes are taken during the annual business meeting and any Executive Committee meetings, and that these are published or otherwise made available to the Association. A copy of the current Constitution and Bylaws, and a separate list of all votes, successful motions and resolutions shall be kept.

Executive Committee Positions:

  • Membership & Credentials Committee Chair (Three Year Term)
  • Professional Development Committee Chair (Three Year Term)

Nominees must be AABA Regular Members in good standing. The President Elect should ideally have prior experience in serving on the AABA Executive Committee. Any AABA member (student, regular, or special) may submit a nomination. Self nominations are encouraged. To check a nominee's membership status, login at http://birenheide.com/AAPA/memberinfo.php and go to the directory of members.

Nomination Slate:
 From the proposed eligible nominees, the AABA Nominations Committee, chaired by Dr. Anne Grauer will seek input from the Executive Committee regarding the slate of nominees and recommend to the Executive Committee two candidates per position and alternates for the official ballot. The President will contact potential candidates in advance of the ballot to obtain their willingness to run.  

 A link to the online ballot will be emailed to Regular Members in January. The poll closes in late February.

To Submit a Nomination:

Current AABA Executive Committee (ExComm) members

Committee duties, if any, are in parentheses following the job title. 

Steve Leigh: President

Anne Grauer: Past President 

Leslea Hlusko: Vice President

Graciela Cabana: Treasurer

Sheela Athreya: Secretary (Media & Communication)

Trudy Turner: Editor, American Journal of Physical Anthropology

Lyle Konigsberg: Editor, Yearbook of Physical Anthropology

Kristi Lewton: ExCom Member (Membership)

Chelsey Juarez: ExCom Member (Student Programs)

Julienne Rutherford: ExCom Member (History and Honors)

Shara Bailey: ExCom Member (Professional Development)

Copyright © 2021 American Association of Biological Anthropologists.
Site programming and administration: Ed Hagen, Department of Anthropology, Washington State University