Executive Committee Positions: The Executive Committee manages the affairs of the association. The committee meets in person once a year, immediately before the Annual Meeting, and virtually as required throughout the year. Each committee member is tasked with a specific responsibility (listed below for the current Executive Committee). More information about the role of the Executive Committee and of the Membership and Credentials Committee can be found in the Association's Constitution and Bylaws.

Nominations are requested from the AAPA membership for the following positions: 

Treasurer (4 year term)

  • The Treasurer shall keep financial accounts of the Association, ensure that its funds are collected, and disburse funds under the direction of the Executive Committee. Accounting for the financial status of the Association is part of that duty, including a written report to the Association at the annual business meeting

2 Executive Committee Members
(3 year terms)

  • There are four executive committee members in addition to the Association’s officers. There are two vacancies this year. One person elected will chair the History and Honors Committee, responsible for coordinating nominations for the AAPA's major awards. The second executive committee member elected will chair the Student Programs Committee, responsible for coordinating student awards and working closely with the Student Liaison to the Executive Committee.

Nominees must be AAPA Regular Members in good standing. The President Elect should ideally have prior experience in serving on the AAPA Executive Committee. Any AAPA member (student, regular, or special) may submit a nomination. Self nominations are encouraged. To check a nominee's membership status, login at http://birenheide.com/AAPA/memberinfo.php and go to the directory of members.

Nomination Slate:
 From the proposed eligible nominees, the AAPA Nominations Committee, chaired by Dr. Steve Leigh, will seek input from the Executive Committee regarding the slate of nominees and recommend to the Executive Committee two candidates per position and alternates for the official ballot. The President will contact potential candidates in advance of the ballot to obtain their willingness to run.  

 A link to the online ballot will be emailed to Regular Members in January. The poll closes in late February.

To Submit a Nomination:

Current AAPA Executive Committee (ExComm) members

Committee duties, if any, are in parentheses following the job title. 

Anne Grauer: President 

Steve Leigh: President-Elect

Rachel Caspari: Treasurer (up for election)

Sheela Athreya: Secretary

Trudy Turner: Editor, American Journal of Physical Anthropology

Lyle Konigsberg: Editor, Yearbook of Physical Anthropology

Kristi Lewton: ExCom Member (Membership)

Christina Torres-Rouff: ExCom Member (Student Programs) (up for election)

Robin Nelson: ExCom Member (History and Honors) (up for election)

Shara Bailey: ExCom Member (Professional Development)

Copyright © 2021 American Association of Physical Anthropologists.
Site programming and administration: Ed Hagen, Department of Anthropology, Washington State University